a. The Committee on Appointments, Promotions and Tenure shall be a standing committee of the faculty and shall consist of twenty-four full-time faculty members. Eighteen members shall be elected by the full-time faculty and six members shall be appointed by the dean. A representative Dean from faculty affairs shall also be a member of this committee, ex officio and without vote. Department chairs are not eligible to serve on this committee. Ten of the committee members shall be tenured associate professors; ten shall be professors in the non-tenure track; and four shall be tenured associate professors. The elected committee members shall include nine faculty members with primary appointment in clinical science departments and nine with primary appointment in basic science departments; the appointed members shall include four from clinical science departments and two from basic science departments. In each election all reasonable effort will be taken to have the number of nominees be at least twice the number of positions to be filled. Members will be elected or appointed for three-year terms. These terms shall be staggered for the full-time faculty members. Committee members may serve only two consecutive three-year terms but subsequently may be reelected or reappointed after an absence of one