

# Faculty Senate Executive Committee

Monday, March 16, 2009 11 a.m. - 1 p.m. – Adelbert Hall, Room 352

# AGENDA

11:00am	Approval of Minutes from the February 12, 2009 Executive Committee meeting, <i>attachment</i>	G. Starkman
	President's Announcement	B. Snyder
11:05am	Provost's Announcements	B. Baeslack
	Chair's Announcements	G. Starkman

11:10am



#### **Faculty Senate** Executive Committee Meeting Monday, March 16, 2009 11 a.m. - 1 p.m. – Adelbert Hall, Room 352

# **Committee Members in Attendance**

Cynthia Beall Bill Deal Steve Garverick Alan Levine Leonard Lynn

#### **Committee Members Absent** Bud Baeslack David Matthiesen

Kathryn Mercer Carol Musil Barbara Snyder Glenn Starkman Terry Wolpaw

Shirley Moore Liz Woyczynski

# Others in Attendance

Ray Muzic
Colleen Treml
Patricia Underwood

### Call to Order and approval of minutes

Professor Glenn Starkman, Chair, called the meeting to order at 11:03 a.m. There being no corrections offered, the minutes of the February 12, 2009 Executive Committee meeting were approved as submitted.

## SAGES Committee membership list

Donald Feke, Vice-provost for Undergraduate Education, distributed the proposed membership list for review and approval of the committee members. There was discussion about who was being selected and the type of role they would serve, i.e. member, ex-officio, or regular guest. Professor Corbin Covault, physics, will be asked to chair the committee. The charge to the committee was reviewed once more to consider the roles of potential members. Upon motion, duly seconded, with an amendment to the membership list and that those listed agreed to serve, was approved.

### Proposal of the Minority Committee

Professor Sana Loue, Chair of the Minority Affairs Committee, notified via e-mail the Secretary of the University Faculty and the Chair of the Faculty Senate, in accordance with the procedures contained in the faculty handbook and the faculty by-laws, a 12 day notice to have placed on the Faculty S pmbo 0.30ag pmb f or(c)-2(h)2()11(2)-552,21a rieedpnoosfr(o)4n heMvinorityAhffairs oto(e)&d(og)3(ardb)2(in)2g)3(a)11(m)6(pm)-6(b) dbs toe madbe o

<u>Nursing School request for exemption from majority tenure/tenure track rule</u> Professor Patricia Underwood attended the meeting on behalf of Dean May Wykle to discuss why the School of Nursing is requesting this permanent exemption. An attachment from Dean Wykle was distributed prior to the meeting stating the reason for their exemption request. Further addressing this reason, Professor Underwood ex1(t) Und.iBi006ba M os ri(pt)-5(